Animal Instinct (1993)

Produced by Gary Hoey

Executive Producer Dave Kaplan

Associate Producer Jean-Marie Horvat


  • Gary Hoey – Guitar, Vocals
  • Tony Franklin – Bass
  • Frankie Banali – Drums
  • Claude Schnell – Keyboards
  • Jamie Kaplan – Vocals on “Jamie”


Track Listing

1. Mass Hysteria

2. Animal Instinct

3. Hocus Pocus

4. Bert’s Lounge

5. Texas Son

6. Deep South Cafe

7. Motown Fever

8. Fade to Blue

9. Drive

10. Jamie

“This album was recorded in 11 days. This album was the one that started it all off for my solo career. Doing a remake of “Hocus Pocus” was a last-minute thought. We never expected it to go to number 5 on the Billboard Rock Charts. I brought about 25 guitars into the studio and we must have had 10 different amps to choose from. It was a guitarist’s dream.” –Gary

Mainstream Rock Songs

Week of October 16, 1993

Listen to Animal Instinct

Gary Hoey Merch

Shop the Gary Hoey Store for rockin’ shirts, albums and tote bags—for gifts or for yourself!


Gary Hoey

I enjoy hearing from new and longtime fans and guitar players!

Say hi on social media, or find out how to contact me here, and follow me and subscribe to my YouTube channel. I look forward to seeing you all. –Gary 


© 2023-2024 Gary Hoey Productions